Skip to main content | Email : | Mob : 9741001849

A scintillating and a vibrant celebration of the Diocesan Youth Convention ‘BLOOM 2023’

By September 27, 2023News

Udupi: A scintillating and a vibrant celebration of the Diocesan Youth Convention ‘BLOOM 2023’ organized by the Diocesan ICYM was held on the 24th of  September, Sunday at the Mount Rosary Church Millenium Hall, Santhekatte, Kallianpur. This festive day uniting all the diocesan youth in a spirit of enthusiasm  commenced with an Inauguration at 9:00 AM. The morning Session was compered by Ashish Menezes.

A warm welcome was extended to the Dignitaries in a unique traditional way. They were greeted by a show of amazing celebratory welcome dance. After Invoking God’s choicest blessings on the entire programme, though a prayer Song, the programme flowed into the Inaugural ceremony. The programme was presided by the Vicar General of the Diocese of Udupi – Very Rev. Msgr Ferdinand Gonsalves. The Stage was also shared by Rev. Dr Roque D’Souza – Parish Priest of Mt Rosary Church, Mr Walter Nandalike – Entrepreneur and Founder of Daijiworld Media, Mr Nivin Antony – The Presidentof ICYM Karnataka Region, Mr Anson Nazareth- YCS National President, Rev. Fr Ronson D’Souza – Udupi Deanery ICYM Director and Mr Luke D’Souza -Vice President of Mt Rosary Parish Council who graced the occassion as the Esteemed guests of Honour.

Miss Ashley D’Souza – ICYM Diocesan President verbally welcomed all the esteemed guests to the youth Convention and extended a graceful welcome to the Rev.Deanery Directors, the Diocesan priests and all the Diocesan Youth gathered.Msgr Ferdinand Gonsalves inaugurated Bloom 2023 symbolically by  unveiling aHand-Made Craft Flower. Fr Roque D’Souza addressed the gathering appreciated the meticulous and fine preparations of the ICYM Central Council and wished success to the Programme. Mr Nivin Antonywas delighted to see the huge gathering of the Youth. He congratulated the youth for their interest and urged the youth to actively participate in every activity the Diocese organizes for their well-being. Msgr Ferdinand in his presidential speech compared the acronym BLOOM to the life of the Youth invited the youth to blossom, to learn, to be optimistic, to make use of the opportunity and to make Merry. He also gave a clarion call to be great leaders, to be courageous and to aim higher in life. Mr Prithesh Pinto proposed the Vote of Thanks to the respected Guests of Honour, to the Generous Sponsors and well Wishers.

The Morning Study Session began with the first Talk by Mr Walter Nandalike on the topic ‘Field of Politics and Media’ thereby shedding light on the contemporary concerns and motivated the youth to empower the Christian Community by an unbiased use of Media. He further asked the youth to embrace motivating friends and positivity in Life.Fr Joachim OFM Cap. In his talk ‘The Role of Youth in a Changing Indian Situations.

The Eucharistic Celebration was presided by Rev. Fr Ronson D’Souza, ICYM Udupi Deanery Director along with Fr Alphonsus D’Lima and Rev. Fr Steven Fernandes. Soon after the Mass, lots for the deanery wise Cultural competitions were taken and soon after this, delicious lunch was served to all.

The exuberant Inter-deanery Cultural Competitions commenced at 2: 15 PM with the high-spirited contestants ready to give a thrilling performance. The Judges of the BLOOM Cultural Evening Rev. Fr Robin Santhumayor- the Assistant Priest at Milagres Church, Mrs Sapna Saldhana – a renowned multifaceted Artist of the Konkani Catholic Community and Mr Ashwin D’Costa– a celebrated Singer  and a distinguished Composer were welcomed and introduced to the Gathering. All the Five Deaneries presented their energetic performances in the Singing, Fancy Dress and Group Dance Category as per the slots to their utmost potential. A splendid sight and a real joy it proved to watch the cut-throat contest among the five deaneries for the coveted BLOOM 2023 trophy.

The Concluding Ceremony of the Youth Convention – BLOOM 2023 was presided over by V. Rev. Fr Valerian Mendonca – the Dean of the Kallianpur Deanery. Mrs Shwetha Rasquinha – HOD of Social Work at St Aloysius College,Fr Robin Santhumayor, Mrs Priya Furtado – Youth Commission Cordinator of Udupi Diocese, Mr Ashwin D’Costa, Mrs Sapna Saldhana were the Chief Guests of the closing Ceremony. Shiny Alva welcomed the Guests of Honour, the Judges and the special invitees, the Priest Director of various Deaneries and the gathered.Mrs Shwetha Rasquinha in her speech highlighted the various opportunities provided by ICYM as a real Heritage for one’s future Life. She also stressed the   skills and knowledge that is needed in life is given on a platter by these Youth Movements.Fr Steven Fernandes read out the results of the Online Competitions held unit-wise as a part of the Bloom 2023 namely Reels Competition, Poetry Recital and Stand-up comedy.

The result of REELS Competition :

First Prize – Milagres Cathedral, Kallianpur

Second Prize – St Dominic Church, Miyar

Third Prize – Christ King Church, Karkal Town

The result of Poetry Recital :

First Prize – Reeshal Lobo, Byndoor

Second Prize – Ancita D’Souza, Moodubelle

Third Prize – Melissa Cutinha, Mt Rosary Church

The result of Stand-Up Comedy :

First Prize – Divya Pinto, Shirva

The Five Deanery ICYM Directors Fr Sunil D’Silva – Kallianpur deanery, Fr Ronson D’Souza -Udupi deanery, Fr Arnold Mathias – Shirva Deanery, Fr Ashwin Aranha – Kundapura Deanery, Fr Larry Pinto – Karkal Deanery were felicitated and given a token of Appreciation during the programmes for their support and loving services to the Youth. The Donors were thanked for their financial help towards the organization of this convention. Fr Valerian Mendonca encouraged the youth to Bloom and spread the fragrance in one’s own place and congratulated the Entire Team headed by Fr Steven Fernandes. The Concluding Ceremony was compered by Godwin Mascarenhas. The Most Anticipated moment of the Convention – BLOOM 2023 was greeted with much excitement.

The result of Singing Competition :

First Prize – Kallianpur Deanery

Second Prize – Udupi Deanery

Third Prize – Karkal Deanery

The result of Fashion Show :

First Prize – Karkal Deanery

Second Prize – Udupi Deanery

Third Prize – Kallianpur Deanery

The result of Dance Competition :

First Prize – Kallianpur Deanery

Second Prize –Udupi Deanery

Third Prize –Karkal Deanery

The Overall Championship of BLOOM 2023 was bagged by KALLIANPUR DEANERY and UDUPI DEANERY emerged as the Runner-Up. Around 44 parishes comprising of 450 ICYM Members were a part of the Convention in their respective Deaneries. An enthralling event was brought to an end with more vibrant dance and Breath-taking moves in the Venue Hall aftermath the Convention.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Hence, sending offensive comments using will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.