Skip to main content | Email : | Mob : 9741001849

Louis D’Souza, Sastan re-elected as President of Catholic Sabah Kallianpur Deanery.

By March 20, 2023Kannada News

kallianpurdotcom : 20/03/2023

Reported by: P. Archibald Furtado

Udupi : Catholic Sabah a registered platform having well set three tier administration –Unit level in each and every parish, then Deanery level  in all the varado’s and Regional Diocesan governing bodies with democratically elected office bearers to lead from the front. ‘Kallianpur Deanery’ which has the federation of active nine units under its fold in – Sastan, Barkur, Brahmmavar, Pethri, Kolallgiri, Kemmannu, Thottam, Mount Rosary, Kallianpur – Santhekatte and Milagres Cathedral, Kallianpur.  Vicar Vara and the Rector of the Cathedral, ex officio Spiritual Director and at present Very Rev. Fr. Valerian Mendonca guiding and directing the Deanery Unit.
It’s one of the largest as well as most popular and visible laity organisation of the Dioceses Udupi and Mangalore which was established in the year 1979 has the credit of nurturing both secular leadership to the community and safeguarded, defended its rights and spearheaded various welfare schemes, spread awareness and raised its concern from time to time, since 44 long years.
On Sunday, 19th March, 2023, there held Kallianpur Varado level election of new Office bearers in the Tri Centenary Memorial Auditorium and  Louis D’Souza, from Sastan was unanimously elected as the President, P. Archibald Furtado, Mount Rosary, as General Secretary and Urban Lewis, Brahmavar as Treasurer, for a consecutive second term –  1st April 2023 to March 31st, 2024.
The election was smoothly conducted under the supervision of delegates appointed by the Central Diocesan Committee, led by its Udupi Diocesan President Mrs. Mary D’Souza, as the Election Officer and the Gen Secretary Mr. Gregory PK D’Souza –as the official Observer.
Spiritual Director Very Rev Fr. Valerian Mendonca
1 President Mr. Louis Dsouza, Sastan
2 President Designate Rosy Quadrus – Mt Rosary, Kallianpur
3 Vice President Eric L Soans, Barkur
4 Immediate Past President Rosy Baretto, Milagres, Kallianpur
5 General Secretary P. Archibald Furtado, Mount Rosary
6 Joint Secretary Jyothy Baretto, Kemmannu
7 Treasurer G. Urban Lewis, Brahmmavar
8 Asst Treasurer Louis Maxim Dsouza, Sastan
9 Amcho Sandhesh Representative Hubert Lewis, Kemmannu
10 Convener – Political Affairs Steevan Prakash Lewis, Brahmmavar
11 Convener – Govt Facilities Lilly Lewis, Kollalgiri
12 Internal Auditor Raj Roshan Dsouza, Pethri
13 Co-ordinator – Stree-Shashaktikaran Celine Colaco, Thottam.
To begin the proceedings, former President Rosy Baretto, convenor of Elections in the Deanery, extended a cordial Welcome to all delegates representing various Units and senior members and office bearers. In her introductory address, President of the Udupi Diocese Mary D’Souza appreciated the best service offered by one of the most vibrant Kallianpur varado team of office bearers and sought same cooperation in the forthcoming year. Diocesan Secretary George PK DSouza highlighted the significance of the election and briefed duties and the responsibilities of various posts and positions.
Once the election was over, the names of newly elected Managing Committee were announced by the P. Archibald Furtado amidst the thunderous applause and Rosy Baretto thanked on behalf of President elect, Louis D’Souza,, the Udupi Pradesh Office bearers, past and present, especially Mary D’Souza, and Gregory PK D’Souza – the Election Officer and Observer respectively, for their discharge of responsibilities in an amicable atmosphere. Alphonse D’Costa, the advisor of the CS Kallianpur Varado was present to guide the proceedings.
President Louis also sought everyone’s support and co-operation in the forthcoming year to carry on with Catholic Sabah objectives and implement them for the welfare of society at large.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Hence, sending offensive comments using will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.